Showing 20 search results
Filters
Hotel And Accomodation
Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake
Ri Bhoi
Umniuh Khwan, UCC Road, Ri Bhoi District, Meghalaya, Umniuh Khwan, UCC Road, Ri Bhoi District, Meghalaya
2.5

Hotel And Accomodation
Hotel Woodland Hill Stay
East Khasi Hills
15, Upper Shillong, Lachumiere, Shillong, Meghalaya 793001, 15, Upper Shillong, Lachumiere, Shillong, Meghalaya 793001
2.5

Hotel And Accomodation
The Heritage Club
East Khasi Hills
Castle Road, Clive Colony, Shillong, Meghalaya 793001, Castle Road, Clive Colony, Shillong, Meghalaya 793001
2.5

Hotel And Accomodation
Polo Orchid Resort Cherrapunjee
East Khasi Hills
Mawsmai-Nongthymmai Road, near Water Falls, Cherrapunji‎, Meghalaya 793108, Mawsmai-Nongthymmai Road, near Water Falls, Cherrapunji‎, Meghalaya 793108
2.5

School
B K Bajoria School
East Khasi Hills
Boyce Road, Shillong, Meghalaya 793001, Boyce Road, Shillong
2.5

School
Loreto Convent
East Khasi Hills
Dhankheti, Lachumiere, Shillong, Meghalaya 793003, Dhankheti, Lachumiere
2.5

School
St. Edmund's School
East Khasi Hills
Laitumkhrah, Shillong, Meghalaya 793003, Laitumkhrah
2.5

School
St. Anthony's Higher Secondary School
East Khasi Hills
Don Bosco Rd, Laitumkhrah, Shillong, Meghalaya 793003, Don Bosco Rd
2.5

School
CMCL Vidya Bharati School
Jaintia Hills
PO- Lumshnong, Dist- East Jaintia Hills,, Cement Factory Rd, Meghalaya 793210, Cement Factory Rd
2.5

School
Christ Senior Secondary School
Ri Bhoi
Umiam, P.O, Nongsder, Umiam, Meghalaya 793103, Umiam, P.O, Nongsder
2.5

School
Don Bosco Technical School
East Khasi Hills
Laitumkhrah, Shillong, Meghalaya 793003, Laitumkhrah
2.5

School
Jowai Public School
Jaintia Hills
Ladthadlaboh, Jowai, Meghalaya 793150, Ladthadlaboh
2.5

School
Anderson Higher Secondary School
East Khasi Hills
NH 44E, Upper New-Nongstoin, Nongstoin, Meghalaya 793119, NH 44E, Upper New-Nongstoin
2.5

Cosmetic Product
The Body Shop
East Khasi Hills
Plot No-5, GS Rd, Police Bazar, Shillong, Meghalaya 793001, Plot No-5, GS Rd, Plot No-5, GS Rd, Police Bazar
2.5

Furniture & Furnishings
Nitra Furniture Stockiest
East Khasi Hills
Upperside Side Of Step By Step School, Barik Point, Shillong, Meghalaya 793001, Upperside Side Of Step By Step School, Barik Point
2.5

Page  1 of 2


hotel and accomodation

2.5
Tripura Castle was built in the early 1920’s by the then Maharaja of Tripura who came to Shillong and fell in love with the place. It became the summer retreat for the Royal Family of the Manikya dynasty. Today the main palace is the home to the current head of the Manikya dynasty, Maharaja Pradyot Bikram Kishore Debbarma, who also oversees the hotel. On the castle grounds is The Heritage Club – Tripura Castle, a hotel nestled atop a hill and spread over 9 acres of green, barely 5 minutes from the city yet secluded and serene. A horse-shoe shaped gate, a symbol of good-luck and a royal tradition welcomes you to the reception. With 38 rooms, each elegantly refurbished, 4 restaurants – bars each serving a variety of cuisine and drinks and club carts to take you from one wing to the other, The Heritage Club – Tripura Castle offers you an ambience that no other in Shillong does. The Heritage Wing has 10 rooms, and is an extension of the Royal Residence. It reflects the ambience of a Heritage Home with warm wood interiors, brass fireplaces and art deco furniture. The Forest Wing has 6 room and 3 independent cottages and the Valley Wing has 19 rooms. The Valley View Wing has 15 rooms and is built where once the rose gardens and royal stables were. The rooms have balconies that overlook a valley dotted with colourful rooftops and church steeples. The Forest View Wing has 6 rooms and 3 single-room independent wood cottages. Overlooking a pine forest, it is built where the Maharaja’s printing press and armoury once were. The Heritage Club – Tripura Castle is the only heritage hotel in the region and takes immense pride in its Maharaja Suites, each offering ornate mahogany beds used by India’s first the Nobel Laureate, Rabindranath Tagore during his long and close association with four generations of the Royal family. In fact Tagore’s works “Rajarshi” and “Mukut” are based on the Manikya dynasty. Not many know that the Tripura Royal Family is considered to be the world’s second oldest unbroken dynastic chain in the world after the Mikados of Japan and can be traced to 186 rulers. It is in Tripura Castle, Shillong that the historic talks on the Tripura Merger agreement in 1949 between India and the independent state of Tripura was held. Though the Castle does not resemble a ‘castle’ in the British or European sense of the term, it does reflect the regality of a royal home – from its marvelous collection of historical memorabilia, manicured gardens, an underground bomb shelter and tunnel opening out into the rose gardens dating back to World War II, to the old world charm the place exudes. One is immediately taken back to the quiet grace of a by-gone era.

school

2.5
As early as 1894, Mgr. Edmund Becker, the prefect Apostolic of Assam had conceived the idea of a boarding school for boys in Shillong. His enthusiasm was rekindled when a noted educationist, Sir Archdale Earle was appointed as Chief Commissioner of Assam in 1912. Sir Archdale Earle strongly backed Mgr. Edmund Becker’s idea. Mgr. Edmund Becker wanted the finest educationists to build up his dream, so he convinced the Christian Brothers to take up the project. In 1913, Br. Stanislaus O’Brien came to Shillong to oversee plans for the school. In 1914, the present location - then, nothing but a dense pine forest - was handed over by the Government to the Brothers. The pioneer, Br. Stanislaus O’Brien, stayed alone on the 24 acre property and saw the birth of St. Edmund’s School, which was his home from 1914 till his death in 1940. Within a year and a half the building was completed. Mgr. Edmund Becker blessed the foundation stone. In acknowledgement of Mgr. Edmund Becker’s immense contribution, St. Edmund’s School was named after his patron saint. In February 1916, the admission of 3 boys saw St. Edmund’s doors open. The numbers soon rose to 31 boarders and 11 day scholars. St. Edmund’s School was officially opened on 6th October 1916 by Sir Archdale Earle. Br. Andrew Luke Aherne became the first Principal. Thus began the saga of St. Edmund’s. The institution has since grown into full-fledged School and Degrees College, providing quality education and turning out capable, smart young minds in the service of God and society.